Action! Design over Time

October 15, 2010

New York City.  That’s where I am.  And that’s most of why I haven’t posted since Monday – its been a crazy week getting here.  I’m in town for a wedding (sort of … its a long story) but I got in a day early because, being the country mouse that I am, I only get to New York about every five years so I wanted to make the most of it.

In the afternoon I hit the MOMA, which was on my to do list because a friend had talked up their temporary exhibit on the modern kitchen as it was conceived between the wars.  It was good but disappointingly small, however the rest of the museum amused me much more than I might have guessed so it was a good trip.  Here are some of my favorite ideas from the “Action! Design over Time” exhibit in the Architecture and Design galeries at the MOMA.

“We are living in a storm where a hundred contradictory elements collide, debris from the past, scraps of the present, seeds of the future, swirling, combining, separating under the impervious wind of destiny.”

Adophe Rette, La Plume, 1898

from MOMA’s Action! Design over Time

“The objects of utility in our lives have freed the slaves of a former ages.  The are in fact themselves slaves, menials, servants.  Do you want them as your soulmates?  We sit on them, work on them, make use of them, use them up; when used up, we replace them.”

Le Corbusier, the Decorative Art of Today

from MOMA’s Action! Design over Time

“Function, combined with good taste, results in good design.”

voice over from video Good Design

from MOMA’s Action! Design over Time

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

