Tatooine or “Make Star Wars as 2D as Possible”

October 8, 2010

I heard about this video on the MPR (mixed media, I know) on my way into work this morning and laughed out loud when the host described it.  She said it was a new viraly popular music video using beautiful construction paper animation to tell the story of the Star Wars trilogy in two minutes.  The title is right out of the Star Wars universe, she said, and then pronounced it something like this “T”Two-en” which caused me to do a full two beat search of my memory for trivia.  Not a name of a person, not a robot, not an alien species … could it be the name of the home planet of an alien race.  Then it clicked: she meant Tatooine.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Jeremy Messersmith – Tatooine, posted with vodpod

I looked it up when I got to the office and opened my computer and … its beautiful.  The song by Jerremy Messersmith is lovely (and available through Bandcamp rather than iTunes – yay).  And Eric Power’s animation is so great.  It tells a (rather Luke centered) abbreviated version of the trilogy in such detailed animation.  I couldn’t resist pulling a few favorite stills to include here.

Aren’t these beautiful!?!

Leave a Reply

