Canned Cupcakes

May 22, 2010

Well officially I suppose they are jarred cupcakes but they are in canning jars and I love alliteration.  These are the cupcakes I prepared and shipped to my dear friend Roshni for her birthday.  She’s been mourning her lack of proximity as I baked up a storm this spring so I decided to surprise her with with baked goods of her own for this occasion.  I was wondering if it was even possible to ship cupcakes without irreparable damage in transit when the internet gods suggested this solution.  I was instantly taken with the idea.  Cupcakes in a jar!  What a notion.   Here’s how theirs look.

Quite lovely.  I didn’t understand why they were splitting and frosting their cupcakes vertically until after I’d done all of mine but now I think I’ll do it their way in the future – it helps the cupcake spread and fill up the whole base of the jar better which will, I assume, keep them fresher.  It also looks better.  However I’m very pleased with my first attempt.  I don’t think it will be my last.  Even for short range transport – from my apartment to work or to a friends house – this is a great solution that will keep everything looking neat and be easy, fun and novel to consume as well.  Hooray.

I’ll photograph come of my own in a forthcoming post.

Leave a Reply

