Internet Time Wasting

May 10, 2010

This website is the best way I have yet found to waste time on the internet. I consider this to be quite an achievement since I discovered it in 2001 (about this time of year, in fact) and used it to procrastinate studying for my spring term finals. Its quite delightfully fun and also challenging. It starts you out as Arthur Dent at the beginning of A Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and you have to figure out what to do in order to get yourself down to the pub, powwow with Dirk and get the hell off Earth before its blown up by Vogons.  I haven’t played it for years but came across it recently and was flooded with amusing memories of sitting in front of my computer – a desktop with a huge humming monitor – following the shouted suggestions of my then future room mate Krissa. If you’ve ever been a fan of either Douglas Addams or old school text-based computer games … check this out.

I’m reminded of this delightful strong bad email on a similar subject.  Since homestarrunner.com is flash based I can only include a still – you’ll have to click on it to watch the video.  How quaint.  Note: Strong bad emails are another fabulous way to waste time online that has been around since before you tube.


Leave a Reply

