Storm Chasing (me)

April 30, 2010

I headed home to Madison this afternoon to join the family for KJ’s birthday celebration.  We’re going to see a UW production of Into the Woods and then tomorrow head down to my grandmother’s home town of Monticello, IL which we still love to visit even though she’s no longer there.  I’d been tracking the weather and knew that there was a big storm rolling my way.  As the sky grew dark and thunder started to rumble ominously I coordinated with my boss and got the last few things wrapped up so that I could take off a early and try to get out ahead of it.  In fact the image above is me stopped on a hilltop just out side of Coon Valley and looking back (somewhat smugly) at the louring clouds – thinking I’d gotten out from under it. That picture, I should note, was taken at 2:00 pm!  (The place I stopped happened to be the charmingly named Cut Across Road.)  However as the weather map screen shot from shortly after my arrival shows – I did not escape the storm.  In fact I established a new definition for the word torrential while I crawled along at 40, barely able to see the car 100 yards in front of me.  I am so grateful to be parked and now my knuckles are returning to their accustomed flesh tone.

One Response to “Storm Chasing (me)”

  1. denisedthornton Says:

    posted under my very nose


Leave a Reply

