Lightning Round Dress Design

April 5, 2010

Here’s my new challenge: the 72 hour dress.  This is something I’ve had in mind for a while – the fabric was purchased on a whim in January and I decided probably in February that I was going to make a dress out of it to wear to Chris’s wedding.  But then other things came up and I didn’t really get around to doing it.

So now here it is April and the wedding is the weekend after next … and I also had plans to make a coordinating gray corduroy jacket.  Accordingly, yesterday I threw down the gauntlet for myself.  I bullied a little reluctant design advice out of KJ while she was here and came up with a basic design and then got my dress form out and started pinning.  The above is still just the mockup – all held together with pins and folding.  In this shot to the right though I’m wearing the semi-complete bodice section while my handy dandy dress form continues to be just pinned together.  But by the time I left for work I had attached the skirt section to the bodice and tried the whole thing on once.

Its coming together very quickly and I’m keeping my usual contemplative deliberation breaks to a minimum.  Tonight I hit the fabric store for a zipper and hook-and-eye closure and I very much hope to have it wrapped up by tomorrow.  Here’s the full mockup below:

Leave a Reply

