Sweatshirt Set

January 30, 2010

No, I haven’t been playing with photoshop – there are two of them.  This is actually a project from a couple of weeks ago.  I made up the green shirt first based on  my memory of a beloved sweatshirt from several years ago which was destroyed in a freak bleaching accident.  I made the muslin pattern based on a couple of shirts I like and tinkered a bit to get the raglan sleeves to set in properly.  The second (gray) one went much more quickly as I had already worked out the fit … although I did play around with ways to edge the sleeves and waist for a while.  Eventually I just turned the fabric backwards to create edging – since its sort of a terry cloth material it makes a nice little contrast.  Pretty neat huh?  Real shirts made by and fit to yours truly.  I feel like quite the seamstress and I have the muslin pattern pieces labeled and marked with grain lines and notes etc so that I can make another whenever I please.

Leave a Reply

