Once in a Blue Moon

December 31, 2009

I always have mixed feelings about New Years.  Convention has it that it must be celebrated at large and raucous parties with an excess of drinking and loud counting down to the hour.  I’ve always been more of a quiet-gathering-of-dear-friends-with-plenty-of-time-for-contemplation-and-maybe-a-little-journaling type.  My predilections are at odds with the ways of the world.   Some years I bow to popular culture and sometimes I eschew the dizzy whorl.  I’d been thinking of going up to the Twin Cities were a bunch of thing are happening tonight but … I’ve changed my mind.

Tonight is a full moon.  It is also a blue moon.  And in some parts of the world (not here) its  lunar eclipse as well.  The sky is clear and I am planning a solitary moonlit snow shoe adventure.  There should be time as well for a bit of celebratory libation and also a few more pages in my journal.  A friend and I read out loud from December 31st 2000 entries earlier today and had quite a laugh at how things change and how they stay the same.  Who knows where I’ll be in 10 years when I look back and read tonight’s words.

Leave a Reply

