Cover your ears

December 7, 2009

I’ve had this Jack Handy joke stuck in my head the last few days.  Its one of the “Deep Thoughts” they used to have on Saturday Night Live and now you can find them in collections or (anywhere) on the internet.  Most are pretty short and sweet.  (Ex: “I don’t pretend to have all the answers. I don’t pretend to even know what the questions are. Hey, where am I?”)  The one I have in mind is a little … convoluted:

Despair is like a cable that is buried just under the surface of the ground. You pull it up and pull it up, but that cable just keeps right on going, clear across a field, until you come to a bunch of guys who are burying the cable. Then just walk up to them and go, “Hey, have you seen Fred?” And they’ll say, “Fred who?” And you say, “Fred of snakes?” Then cover your ears, because big laughs are coming.

Anyway.  I think it has to do with the fact that winter is finally here.  Since yesterday morning we’ve been gettting reports of a big dump of snow on its way.  The weather.com had an orange severe weather alert bar across the top of the forecast.  Now its turned to red.  They’re calling it a Winter Storm Warning.  I know that the weather people tend to like exaggerating these things “blizzard” makes such a good buzz word in the commercial teasers they air every five minutes on TV.  But looking at the radar map I think we are actually in for a big one.  I have mixed feelings because I love the words “snow day” as much as the next graduate of elementary school but I was planning on having people over tonight and several of them live out in the country.  Blizzard conditions don’t make one that inclined to traverse country roads in the dark.  I’ll just have to wait and see how my social event turns out.  But it looks like the snow day might be a pretty sure thing.

Anyway, my point is.  Cover you ears, because big snow is coming.

Leave a Reply

