The Germ

November 7, 2009

A mighty creature is the germ,
Though smaller than the pachyderm.
His customary dwelling place
Is deep within the human race.
I cannot help but wonder at
The oddness of his habitat.
His childish pride he often pleases
By giving people strange diseases.
Do you, my poppet, feel infirm?
You probably contain a germ.

– Ogden Nash

 

A mighty creature is the germ,

One Response to “The Germ”

  1. Laura Says:

    Hey Della,
    For some reason I always mix up Ogden Nash and Carl Sandburg. I almost said that my favorite Nash poem was “The Fog,” but it’s actually by Sandburg. Do you know it?

    The fog comes
    on little cat feet.

    It sits looking
    over harbor and city
    on silent haunches
    and then moves on.

    Anyway, I’d love to get coffee sometime and connect the dots of our somewhat mutual acquaintances. I’m a cashier at the co-op, so if you stop by see if I’m around. Or, I think wordpress asked for my email address so feel free to send me an email. Talk to you soon, Laura.


Leave a Reply

