Melk; de witte motor*

October 16, 2009

milk

If you look closely at the top of the milk jug in this picture you’ll see that it has my name on it.  That is because it was delivered to me yesterday and left in the refrigerator in the farm kitchen at work as part of my new membership in a dairy.  Roald and Amelia (my employers) have been getting raw milk delivered for a while now and I just picked up on the notion a few weeks ago.  I looked up the website for the dairy and saw the picture of happy cows and my heart gave a thump.  Organic Valley may be a coop and Wisconsin based and those are both very good things but … how can it compare with un-homogenized milk delivered in a glass jar right to “my” refrigerator by a nice guy named John?  So … I signed myself right up and got my first delivery on Thursday.  What with the membership starting fee and buying four jars as well as the week’s gallon costs me $25 but I’m totally happy with the price.  Especially since I’ve already begun turning it into value added product.  I rushed home from work last night and tried making my own yogurt for the first time, with pretty reasonable success!  And after this my weekly rate will only be $7 a gallon.  Turning half of it into yogurt, separating off cream for quiche and baking, and having out-of-this-world hot cocoa all the time will make that seven dollars very well spent.  I want to try my hand at making buttermilk (which I use regularly in my pancakes) next but have thus far been foiled by the lack of active-culture buttermilk at the coop.  I need something to start with.

The source of my inspiration is partly the milk itself and partly this book, which I found by searching “raw milk” in the card catalog at the library.  Its such a find I’ll be renewing it till I can’t and may have to shell out for my own copy eventually.  Aside from a fascinating, and very scholarly, discussion of the history of milk and dairy products in this country, the author, Anne Mendelson includes 120 recipes for milk.  Some of which are cream of x soup but many of which are instructions for how to create yogurt, butter, whipped cream, ice cream, sour cream, butter milk and various soft cheese items from straight up milk.  This review faults the book for basing so many recipes on raw or at least homogenized milk.  It may be a problem for some people but as that’s exactly what I now have on hand I’m thrilled. I’ll be reporting on my milk experiments as they proceed.  Wish me luck.

*this was an ad campaign for Milk in the Netherlands during my early childhood.  I don’t know if I remember the jingle myself or if I just remember my mother’s repetitions of it as is true of a number of advertising jingles from her childhood that are permanently stuck in my head.  Translated it says: Milk; the white motor.  Fuel might be a better metaphor but we won’t quibble.

One Response to “Melk; de witte motor*”


  1. […] Why, you ask.  To tell Wisconsin what kind of milk I drink.  For those of you not following the Raw Milk legislation in Wisconsin, Governor Doyle vetoed the bill.  This is a bill that I’ve been watching closely since its […]


Leave a Reply

