Now, I am a runner.

October 4, 2009

runner

I just got back from a run.  It is raining and 55 degrees and windy.  But I’ve been running on alternate days and this week that makes Sunday a running day so … I ran.  And I did three miles in 30 minutes.  In 29:56 to be precise.  Walking a couple of blocks back to my apartment to “cool down” with the wind blowing chill droplets into my face I decided that I had just met my own criteria for being a “real runner.”

Will run in nasty weather … check.

Runs multiple times a week with regularity … check.

Can do multiple 10 minute miles in a row … check.

Gets up and does all of the above before breakfast … check.

All my life, I’ve thought of myself as the quintessential anti-athlete but now I think I’ve changed that self-image … I am a runner.

Leave a Reply

