Breakfast of Champions

August 1, 2009

pancakes 4

Or at least … the breakfast of me, every day for the past week.  Its delicious.  Its easy.  Its totally amazing.

Here’s how it happened.  I’ve got to say, when my little sister told me that she’d started cooking herself pancakes for breakfast every morning, I shook my head.  She’s really gotten into the kitchen lately, making herself everything from veggie fried rice to veggie burgers (from scratch) on english muffin buns (also from scratch).  I attributed this new breakfast trend to a similarly crazy feat of derring do and also to the fact that she doesn’t have to be at work until 10 in the morning this summer and her commute is a 10 minute walk.  However, last Sunday I forgot to get milk from the grocery store and so on Monday morning I was confronted with a cupboard rather bare of breakfast options.  I did have, however, a nearly full container of buttermilk (purchased by KJ while she was here for the weekend – she uses it in fabulous scones).  It is my habit to let the containers of buttermilk she buys when she visits languish in the fridge until the next time she comes … and then throw them out because they’ve gone bad. On this occasion, as it was the only breakfast component in my fridge, I decide to throw caution to the winds and try it out in her much touted recipe.

Drumroll.

And it was fantastic.  It went together with ease and and cooked up into three cute as a button little cakes almost before I was ready for them.  I was nervous about flipping them at first but  I’m getting better at that part.  (In my household growing up, pancake flipping was the province of fathers and I’ve never actually made them for myself before.)  Here’s how I did it:

pancakes 3

First mix the wets:

1/4 cup buttermilk; 1 egg white; 1/2 tsp oil; and also 2 TBS whole wheat flour

Let it rest a minute while you put away the dinner dishes from the draining board and start heating the griddle or pan.

Then add:

1 TBS all purpose flour; 1 tsp sugar; 1/4 tsp baking powder; 1/8 tsp baking soda; 1/8 tsp salt

Mix it all up.  I use a fork.  Then pour onto the griddle into three small, two medium or one large pancakes.  I don’t recommend the latter – its hard to flip. Let them cook on one side for just a minute or so until you can poke a spatchula under the edge and see that they are golden brown.  Then flip them.  Wait another minute (depends on the heat) and pull them off again.

Enjoy a fabulous gourmet breakfast!

They are so sweet and light that I don’t even use butter and syrup, opting instead for the healthier and more substantial yogurt and jam topping.  Its fantastic.  At dinnertime I’ve found myself resenting whatever I chose to make for not being pancakes and feeling impatient for the morning and breakfast time again.

By the way, the idea of a pancake recipe for one always makes me think of that line from the Flight of the Conchord’s Song: “I’m not crying … I’m just cutting onions … for my lasanga … for one!

3 Responses to “Breakfast of Champions”

  1. Malea Says:

    They look very yummy! You know – another option, if you are going to have them every day- mix up a larger batch, put batter in a small pitcher, then you can pour straight from pitcher to griddle, AND store in fridge covered for tomorrow morning! [I recommend a 3-4(max) day supply, just give it a quick stir before using.] OR even better, make a larger batch and then have peanut butter and jelly on leftover pancakes for lunch! [This is what we did when I was little!]

    This coming from someone who loves baking – but hates the clean-up.

    • dihansmann Says:

      I probably will consider simplifications like that after a while when I get tired of the process. But really, it doesn’t make that much mess. There’s the bowl I mix it up in, the fork I mix with and the 1/4 cup measure – that’s it. The griddle just needs a wipe down when its cool. And typically I don’t bother to get out all the ingredients at once – that was just for the picture. My kitchen is small enough that I rotate on one foot and scoop out flour and sugar, pour baking powder into measuring spoons, etc and then turn back and dump it in the bowl. Its amazingly easy for a from-scratch recipe.


  2. […] fine Mister 2009 August 2 by mlj Well this post had me hankering for pancakes.  A fact that I relayed to the boy this morning at which point […]


Leave a Reply

