The Moon by Night*

July 7, 2009

night window

I love being able to see the full moon rise and pass across the sky from my window at night.  Sleeping with moon brightness on your eyelids has got to be one of the most glorious feelings in the world.  I’ve been missing this for the last two years since I moved out of my tent home in Biloxi and moved to a city with so much light pollution I had to determine the lunar schedule with my google calendar and then walk 7 blocks from my apartment to find a view of it.  Now I’ve got back at last.

Bless you, La Crosse. Hooray, east-facing window.

*also the title of a favorite childhood book by Madeleine L’Engle

Leave a Reply

