Old Lamps for New

March 4, 2009

old lamps for new.jpg
Except that no one could possibly have a use for this faded, pitted, broken sad old spoon. I seem to have replaced it with the exact same model though. Well I shouldn’t be surprised when the same thing happens to this one in three years of heavy use.
I couldn’t resist it though. I was in Madison this weekend and stopped off at Orange Tree Imports, the font of all things delightful and gadgety for the kitchen. It has also been the source of christmas and birthday presents for my mother sister and I for about as long as I remember. Literally, longer. Mom has OTI purchases that are older than I am. Anyway, I’m a girl on a budget now (Hello, Economic Downturn) so all I got this time was a new slotted spoon for 3.50 to replace my old one but … I’m taking just as much pleasure in it as any other new kitchen toy. And it is so cheerful and shiny next to the old one.

Leave a Reply

