White Walls Begone!

February 24, 2009

I finally gave my poor neglected bedroom a little attention this weekend. Its really gotten the short end of the stick in terms of decorating, for several reasons. Primarily because I never had a bedroom before (studio apartments and dorms are all one space) so the area with the bed has never been real aethetic priority. Generally my goal was to draw attention away from that area to keep it more private. Also I’ve been ignoring it because I don’t spend a huge amount of time in there. Although that is also a self fulfulling prophesy – I don’t hang out there becuase its unattractive and so its unattractive because I don’t devote time to it because I don’t hang out there. However, on sunday after KJ left I started with another collage. I’ve been meaning to do this for a while and its always really fun but it takes a little push to get past the initial inertia. And I’ve added an element – hanging clothes. I began with some of the sweaters I’ve made in the past but don’t wear and a couple of tshirts that have been loved into rags. Actually these clothes have been hanging on the wall for more than a month now (looking not a little odd in a big white space) waiting for me to get started on this.
DSCN0659.JPG
Now I have. I did the wall opposite the bed on Sunday and then started the closet wall on Monday morning before work and finished it last night. I have all the pieces laid out for the window wall and am, for the moment ignoring the fact that the wall over my bed looks even more bleak by comparison. I’ll get to it soon.
DSCN0663.JPG

Leave a Reply

