A little Nutty

November 2, 2008

So … I decided a little out of the blue to re-cover my sofa yesterday. I’ve had it as “mine” for three plus years now and it only just occurred to me that I don’t have to leave it the shade of red that Mom chose between 8 and 10 years ago. I have to tools and the talent to make a change. Why not. So after canvasing for Obama from nine to noon I came home changed my shoes, grabbed my purse and headed to the Onalaska Hancock Fabrics. I stood around in the discount home furnishings fabric section for about an hour second guessing my yardage needs and finally got 6 yards of a dark brown textured weave that I think will look classy and be a great background for wide range of colorful throw pillows (yet to be created). I went home and dug right in and had one arm half way done by the time I slept that night. On Sunday, after knocking on doors until noon, I came back and spent pretty much the rest of the day on the living room floor cutting out pieces or at the kitchen table sewing them up. I finished exactly half the sofa. Here’s what it looks like.
DSCN0465.JPG
In progress. Pulling off cushions and measuring them. The fitting process for this complicated little (perfectly square) sofa is very rigorous!
DSCN0469.JPG
As it stands: I’ve completed half the sofa. Started on the second arm and ran out of brown thread. So its going to require another trip to the fabric store before any more progress. In the mean time I have a harlequin sofa. I’m not taking any bets on how long this takes me to finish. But I do have a soft deadline. I want this to be done (along with a number of other home improvement and neatening projects) before KJ comes so that she will be impressed with my mature and stylish housekeeping.

Leave a Reply

